MAKE YOUR OWN WOOD LETTERS FOR DECORATING

 

IMG_1744_thumb

As I started my Christmas decorating I decide the china cabinet was looking a little barren. I decided I wanted some big letters to put up there preferably Noel. I searched out at my favorite store Hobby Lobby for some nice letters. They did not have what I was looking for. The letters where either too small or to thin. So I decided I would make my own.

IMG_1748_thumb

1. I found this great slap of pine in the garage. I started measuring how big I wanted my letters and drew them on the wood.

IMG_1746_thumb_thumb_thumb

2. I decide my best bet for cutting out letters was the jig saw. I rested the big piece of pine wood on the work bench and small step ladder and went to work with the jig saw. You may want a man’s assistance on this part. The O was the trickiest letter.

IMG_1745_thumb

3.Here are my letters after I cut them out with the saw. You will have to do some sanding to smooth edges and imperfections.

IMG_1747_thumb_thumb[1]IMG_1751_thumb

4. I had to make a stand for the letters. I just used scrap wood; nothing beautiful.

IMG_1742_thumb_thumb

5. I added garland to hide the stand and so that the Noel would not be so bland.

IMG_1752

Here is the finished project. I added some lights to light up the Noel. I think I might try painting the letters next year, but I did like the wood look.

Leave a Reply

